Department of Physics is one of the pioneer and strong departments of College of Natural and Computational Sciences. The department started its teaching and learning process when Gondar College of Medicine and Health Sciences promoted to University College in 2003. . The department of Physics has seven M.Sc. programs (Statistical and computational Physics, Atmospheric physics, Medical Physics, Nuclear physics, Quantum field theory,   Quantum Optics & Condensed Matter). Besides this the department plans to open Ph.D. programs in the near future. The department possesses relatively high staff profile and well organized laboratory structure. In addition to the regular program, the department is successful in running a continuing (summer) education program.


The department has three laboratory facilities for undergraduate program