University of Gondar is one among the universities that have arisen to University level from the college of medicine and health sciences with its current status and autonomy in 2004. Accordingly, the Collage of Natural and Computational Sciences (CNCS), formerly called Faculty of Applied Natural Sciences and then Faculty of natural and computational Sciences was one of the founding faculties at the inception of Gondar University College in the spring of 2003.

At the establishment, the faculty had only four under graduate fields of studies, namely, Applied Mathematics, Applied Physics, Applied Chemistry, and Applied Biology. Since then, the faculty has registered several achievements and there are vital landmarks in the history of the university. The collage has developed curricula for several new fields of studies, and has shouldered the responsibilities of institutional management.

Currently, the collage has reached 7 under graduate (Biology, Chemistry, Geology, Mathematics, Physics, Sport Sciences and Statistics) and 30 postgraduate programs (26 M.Sc. and 4 PhD programs). In addition, extension and summer in undergraduate and post graduate programs are offered by most of the departments.

Besides the collage members are engaged in researches, various community services and technology transfer activities.  Thus, to reach the community and tackle the problems, in the College, problem solving research activities, need based community services and enabling technology transfer are taking places.

The Collage also generates income through continuing education, short term trainings, laboratory services, etc.


Vision of the College is to be the leading societal problem-solving college in the country by 2020


Mission of the College is to contribute to the sustainable socioeconomic development of the country by producing vibrant, compassionate and responsible citizens through societal needs tailored curricula; conducting problem solving research; and strengthening community engagement, and technology transfer.

College Administration

The structure of College of Natural and Computational Sciences contained Dean and Vice Dean Offices under which nine Coordinating Offices and seven departments are functioning actively. The coordinating Offices are Quality Assurance and Audit, Postgraduate, Continuing Education, Registrar, Gender and HIV/AIDS, Research and Publication, Technology Transfer, Nanotechnology and Community Service Offices.

The seven Departments are Biology, Chemistry, Geology, Mathematics, Physics, Sport Science and Statistics Department.